Owen Lewery: Blog https://ophoto.allision.com/blog en-us (C) Owen Lewery (Owen Lewery) Sat, 25 Nov 2017 00:59:00 GMT Sat, 25 Nov 2017 00:59:00 GMT https://ophoto.allision.com/img/s/v-5/u865304193-o28029740-50.jpg Owen Lewery: Blog https://ophoto.allision.com/blog 90 120 Sunset Palette https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/11/sunset-palette Amherst Sunset We get awesome sunsets on the north shore. Last year we were out every evening because each one was better than the last. Now we're only amused by the most amazing weather formations. I'm not a painter but I can almost feel the brush pushing the blues and pinks around.

]]>
places weather https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/11/sunset-palette Sat, 25 Nov 2017 00:59:26 GMT
Mantled Howler Monkey https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/6/mantled-howler-monkey This howler has been up since before 5 A.M. when the troupe announced to all and sundry where they would be spending the day. Understandably a little sleepy at this point.

]]>
animals https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/6/mantled-howler-monkey Fri, 30 Jun 2017 02:43:31 GMT
Splendid Leaf Frog https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/6/splendid-leaf-frog Cruziohyla calcarifer, the Splendid Leaf Frog. Again expertly wrangled by José at Frogs Heaven, Horquetas de Sarapiqui, Costa Rica.

Sitting on Etlingera elatior, Torch Ginger or Porcelain Rose

]]>
animals https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/6/splendid-leaf-frog Fri, 09 Jun 2017 17:06:19 GMT
Snowy Egret https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/snowy-egret Snowy Egret Snowy Egret, Playa Manzanillo, Limón, Costa Rica

]]>
animals https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/snowy-egret Tue, 30 May 2017 16:12:37 GMT
Glass Frog https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/glass-frog Fleischmann's Glass Frog. Expertly wrangled by José at Frogs Heaven, Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Costa Rica

]]>
animals https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/glass-frog Tue, 23 May 2017 20:23:35 GMT
1245 https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/1245

]]>
places things https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/1245 Fri, 12 May 2017 19:34:34 GMT
Fresh Coffee https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/fresh-coffee Drying coffee berries, Café de Altura La Quinta Mary, San Sebastian, Mexico

]]>
food https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/fresh-coffee Mon, 08 May 2017 18:28:43 GMT
Wild Flower Bank https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/wild-flower-bank Wandering along the path by the Gulf of St. Lawrence near the Musee de la Gaspésie

]]>
places plants https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/5/wild-flower-bank Fri, 05 May 2017 01:08:28 GMT
Suffolk Hills https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/4/suffolk-hills A Foggy winter day in 2014.

]]>
places https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/4/suffolk-hills Tue, 25 Apr 2017 21:27:42 GMT
Toucan https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/4/toucan Toucan, Manzanillo, Costa Rica Chestnut-mandibled Toucan (Ramphastos ambiguus swainsonii) There were a few of these hanging near, and gorging on, the bananas in our rented yard in Costa Rica this winter. This one was posing I think. When you're wearing all that colour, might as well make the most of it–even if everyone else is wearing the same thing.

]]>
animals https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/4/toucan Sun, 09 Apr 2017 23:33:44 GMT
Boogie https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/1/boogie Meaa/Boogie D-180 CircuitryMeaa/Boogie D-180 Circuitry

]]>
things https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/1/boogie Wed, 01 Feb 2017 04:45:55 GMT
Blot https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/1/blot Our new view is mostly beautiful but there are a couple of rough spots. One is the Lafarge plant on the mainland where the sun inconveniently sets in the autumn. Right now with the dingy winter weather it suits the mood quite well.

Shot with the venerable, unique and surprisingly flexible Minolta Reflex 500mm f/8.

]]>
places https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2017/1/blot Wed, 25 Jan 2017 17:22:57 GMT
Alt Hotel, Griffintown, Montreal https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2016/10/alt-hotel-griffintown-montreal Alt HotelAlt Hotel, Griffentown, Montreal

]]>
places things https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2016/10/alt-hotel-griffintown-montreal Wed, 12 Oct 2016 20:30:00 GMT
Water and Glass https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/7/water_and_glass Water We had a ton of fun with a second-hand Fujifilm XP70 while on vacation but didn't treat it too well in the salt water. It's OK but no longer sealed properly. After my usual extended review reading frenzy, I selected the new Olympus TG-4 as a replacement. Very impressed. This is the camera to have with you. Even has an optional accessory ring light for close macro. Super bright ​f2.0 lens with pretty nice bokeh for a point-and-shoot. And very cool wifi capabilities. Also, it shoots RAW and up to 15m under water at that.

With all the competition from smartphones, the traditional camera manufacturers are stepping up their game. 

]]>
things https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/7/water_and_glass Fri, 24 Jul 2015 17:43:09 GMT
Canonball https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/canonball

]]>
water https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/canonball Sat, 27 Jun 2015 01:02:15 GMT
Bucerías Rooftop Vista https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/bucerias-rooftop-vista Bucerías Rooftop

]]>
places https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/bucerias-rooftop-vista Wed, 24 Jun 2015 23:01:14 GMT
Winter Sunset https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/winter-sunset Winter Sunset

]]>
places https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/winter-sunset Sat, 20 Jun 2015 02:20:02 GMT
Fresh Coffee https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/fresh-coffee Coffee berries ripening at La Quinta coffee farm outside San Sebastián, Jalisco, Mexico.

]]>
plants https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/fresh-coffee Tue, 16 Jun 2015 15:14:49 GMT
Cupolas https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/cupolas Rooftop Cupolas are everywhere in Bucerías. Amazing the things you can do architecturally when you don't have to worry about long winters and feet of snow.

]]>
places https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/6/cupolas Fri, 12 Jun 2015 16:06:36 GMT
Fogged 2 https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/3/fogged-2

]]>
places https://ophoto.allision.com/blog/2015/3/fogged-2 Tue, 17 Mar 2015 13:16:33 GMT